FOR UNDERAGE RIDERS
If you are 15 ½ to 17 years of age you are eligible to participate in the Two or Three Wheel Basic Rider Course.
There are a few requirements that must be met:
Possess a valid Learner License or Driver License
Have a Parent or Legal Guardian present valid identification and sign both the Waiver and COVID-19 Waiver documents.
IF a Parent or Legal Guardian CAN NOT be present to sign the documentation you will need to follow these steps:
Contact the PowerRide University office (207) 573-7433 to notify that a parent or legal guardian will not be available at class start to present identification and sign.
Obtain a photo copy of the parent or legal guardian’s Driver License.
Print the Waiver and COVID-19 Waiver documents.
You must have the Waiver and COVID-19 Waiver signed by the Parent or Legal Guardian and Notarized.
Transmit a copy of the documents via email
Bring the original signed and notarized forms to class to present to the RiderCoach or Instructor on Range.
If you are an Emancipated Minor you must present Proof of Emancipation documentation at time of registration and to the RiderCoach or Instructor.
Under no circumstances will any person under the age of 18 be permitted to participate in the Two or Three Wheel Basic Rider Course without meeting the above requirements.
For information on riding gear required for our courses click here.
For the most recent and up-to-date information on licensing requirements please click here.
OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE HOLDERS
If you hold a valid out-of-state driver's license and you complete the Virginia Rider Training Program, you will NOT be eligible for a Virginia motorcycle-only license. Virginia law prohibits you from holding both your out-of-state license and any type of Virginia license. However, you may be able to exchange your out-of-state driver's license for a Virginia license and obtain the appropriate Class "M", "M2"', or "M3" designation.
If you hold a valid out-of-state driver's license and possess an out of state motorcycle safety course certificate but do not have a motorcycle class designation on your license, you are NOT eligible for a Virginia Class "M", "M2"', or "M3" designation. Virginia does not accept out of state motorcycle safety course certificates. To receive a Class "M", "M2"', or "M3" designation, you must pass the motorcycle knowledge and road skills tests and hold a motorcycle learner's permit for 30 days. If you are under 18, you must hold a motorcycle learner's permit for 9 months.